Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dragon9206

Problems with saved seed

dragon9206
11 years ago

OK, so last year was my first REAL attempt at saving seeds from my garden. I have been growing all heirloom/ open pollinated for several years now but this was the first time I have really tried saving seed. This first attempt was, well...a total flop. I can't figure out what I did wrong. All the peppers and tomatoes were ripe, I let the tomato guts ferment like I was told to; I let everything dry completely before storing in envelopes in a glass jar out of the sunlight. I am getting maybe 1 plant for every 8 or 10 seeds sown. The only thing I can think of is that my AC went out when it was over 100, so my house was 80-90 degrees for part of a week before we could get the new unit installed, could that have effected the seed viability that much?
Any ideas on what I probably did wrong? How should I go about saving my seed this year?
I would very much appreciate some veteran seed saving advice!

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Honestly it is just speculation but heat and humidity are the most common seed destroyers - one reason why many of us elect to store them in a fridge or in the basement or some place in the house where cool temps are assured. So it is possible your week of heat and humidity could have been a contributing factor.

And glass jars? No.

But also keep in mind that some of them may still germinate and that 75% of the time germination problems aren't the fault of the seed but the germination methods used. Try the baggie method detailed on the Growing from Seed forum FAQs with some of your seeds and see if that helps.

Dave

• dragon9206
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the input. I used the same germination methods I have used for the past several years with complete success, which is why I was surprised when I had such poor germination this time.