Return to the Seed Saving Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
threw away good seeds!!!

Posted by onthebeach42 z6 nj (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 16, 05 at 8:13

I am very new to gardening. Started w/perennials last year and had some really beautiful blooms-hardy hibs,trop.hibs,canna,rhodo,susies,rose of sharon,roses. saved all the seeds and marked the containers. I just threw them away last week because i thought i didn't store them right over the winter and others were telling me that you need the bulbs for perennials to grow them-you can't grow from seed. The problem is that i don't know anything about this, but can get a beautiful garden started from containers.When is the proper time to pick the seeds-i got mine when they dropped to the ground.I found this web site after I threw the seeds away or I would be trading!@!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: threw away good seeds!!!

That's a shame! You can grow just about everything from seed, although sometimes you have to do your research well or be very, very, very patient (trilliums and astrantias have been giving me lots of headaches). I'm trying to grow some daffies from seed right now. :)

The proper time to collect seeds is generally when the pods (if any) are starting to split, or the seed heads are starting to dry out (usually the part of the stem right under it has started to shrivel up), but there are some exceptions. Violas are rather tricky, since they expel their seeds once they are ready (if you're watchful, you can catch them as the pods open up, before they start expelling the seeds). Hellebores don't look like they're ready when they are. You should try to collect them before they hit the ground if you can, as ground moisture may initiate the germination sequence, and drying it for collecting can kill the seeds (but don't let this stop you, as most seeds would be fine).