Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lodigardner

storing seeds, will they be viable???

lodigardner
14 years ago

Hi everyone, i have a question about seed storage. Now, this is my first year starting from seed, and i have a lot of leftover seeds from my packets. (Burpee,Seeds of Change,and Botanical interests. Im on sort of on a tight budget so i want to save leftovers for next year. My question: can i store them in the freezer, or is there a better way?

List of leftover seeds--

Eggplant Rosa Bianca BURPEE

Sage, Common BURPEE

Basil, Lemon BURPEE

Tomato Brandywine BURPEE (unopened)

Coriander (Cilantro)BURPEE

Parsley BOTANICAL INTERESTS

Sweet Bell Pepper BOTANICAL INTERESTS (unopened)

German Chamomile (unopened)

Holy Basil (seeds of change)

green and red velvet okra (seeds of change)

Thank you everyone!! :D

Comments (9)

• remy_gw
    14 years ago

Hi,
    You can store them in a freezer in an air tight container and most will last a long time. But you must let the container come to room temp before opening or you will kill your seeds. They will store fine in a room temp cool dark place though. The years are for storage in a cool dark dry place where germination will be about the same as this year.

Eggplant - 5+
    Sage - not sure, but other salvia members I have grown last a few years quite well
    Basil - many years
    Tomato - 5+
    Coriander (Cilantro) - ?
    Parsley - 2 years
    Sweet Bell Pepper - 3 years
    German Chamomile - ?
    Holy Basil - ?, it is still a type of basil, so I assume a long time also
    okra - 5 years

Hope this helps : )
    Remy

• gardener_mary
    14 years ago

I store my seeds in a container in the refrigerator, they seem to hold up very well.

Good gardening, Mary

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    6 years ago

I realize this is an old thread.

I bought too many parsley seeds for 2017. I would like to plant the remainder in the fall.

- Better to store in the refrigerator, or the freezer?