Return to the Seed Saving Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
storing seeds, will they be viable???

Posted by lodigardner 9 San Joaquin lodi (My Page) on
Sat, May 2, 09 at 18:13

Hi everyone, i have a question about seed storage. Now, this is my first year starting from seed, and i have a lot of leftover seeds from my packets. (Burpee,Seeds of Change,and Botanical interests. Im on sort of on a tight budget so i want to save leftovers for next year. My question: can i store them in the freezer, or is there a better way?

List of leftover seeds--
Eggplant Rosa Bianca BURPEE
Sage, Common BURPEE
Basil, Lemon BURPEE
Tomato Brandywine BURPEE (unopened)
Coriander (Cilantro)BURPEE
Parsley BOTANICAL INTERESTS
Sweet Bell Pepper BOTANICAL INTERESTS (unopened)
German Chamomile (unopened)
Holy Basil (seeds of change)
green and red velvet okra (seeds of change)

Thank you everyone!! :D

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: storing seeds, will they be viable???

• Posted by remy 6WNY (My Page) on
    Wed, May 6, 09 at 9:52

Hi,
You can store them in a freezer in an air tight container and most will last a long time. But you must let the container come to room temp before opening or you will kill your seeds. They will store fine in a room temp cool dark place though. The years are for storage in a cool dark dry place where germination will be about the same as this year.

Eggplant - 5+
Sage - not sure, but other salvia members I have grown last a few years quite well
Basil - many years
Tomato - 5+
Coriander (Cilantro) - ?
Parsley - 2 years
Sweet Bell Pepper - 3 years
German Chamomile - ?
Holy Basil - ?, it is still a type of basil, so I assume a long time also
okra - 5 years

Hope this helps : )
Remy

o
RE: storing seeds, will they be viable???

I store my seeds in a container in the refrigerator, they seem to hold up very well.

Good gardening, Mary

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.