Return to the Seed Saving Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
rose moss seed ??????

Posted by lillyjane 6 (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 26, 08 at 2:14

Please help me ! LOL :-) I'm new to seed saving & I am trying to figure out how to save the seeds from my rose moss. Pictures would be wonderful if at all possible ")

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: rose moss seed ??????

If you are talking about what I think you are, i call them moss roses. They look like a sedum, low growing, with brightly colored flowers. After they bloom, they will develop little pods which contain the seeds. the pods are small, about the size of a small pea, each pod will contain many seeds, look like poppy seeds.

o

Yes that's it ! ") But when do I pick the pod? Will it have to turn brown on the plant or can I pick it with the dead flower pedels still on it & let it dry in the house? Thanks for the response ")
Jan ")

o

I would let them turn yellow. If you pick them too early, they won't be ready. If you wait too long, the seed pod will split and release the seeds 9I let them split and reseed themselves each year)

o

Thanks, I am really enjoying this. I have only saved a few hollyhock seeds last year, & I am having a blast in the yard this year ! ") I want to keep them where they are but also have some in several different places in the yard. I am trying to figure out about saving balsam impatient seeds.
Jan ")

o

I found that if I lightly pull on the seed pods and they come off they are ready, but if they feel like they are stuck they're not ready.

o

Rose Moss/ moss rose, are really one of the easiest
annual seeds to save. I usually so what origami_master does
and let mine reseed every year and move around the little
seedlings when they come back.

Good Luck
Mary

o

what is the green leafy plant that grows with the mossrose seedlings. i plant from last years seeds and they came up to

o

Peppers?

o