Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
archoo16

storing seeds

archoo16
11 years ago

Hi. I received some seeds of ridgegourd and Indian brinjal(eggplant) which I want to sow next year. what temps should i store them in. I also have some dwarf zinnia, dwarf daisy and dwarf nasturium seeds ( balcony gardener here :-D ) I got on sale yesterday which I want to use next year. How best can I store them? Any help would be appreciated.

I was thinking the eggplants and ridgegourd will Not like refridgeration, but correct me if I am wrong.

Comments (14)

• GloxiniaLover
    11 years ago

I'm not really an expert but I have a ton of seeds which most of them have to wait about a year or two after I get them(I have a seed addiction and am always buying more! I cant stop) But I am pretty sure you can store all your seeds in the fridge, but you might want to wait for someone else's opinion with that. Make sure they are dry, when I save my own seeds I leave them to dry on a paper towel for about a month then put them in plastic bags, this way no moisture gets in, and if for some reason I leave the seeds outside they wont get wet. I'm not telling you to put them in plastic bags but just in case you save your own! haha

• archoo16
    Original Author
    11 years ago

:-D I do, I have some clarkia, bachelor's buttons , virginia stock , cosmos and annual baby's breath. I am waiting for the pods, now. Btw when do you collect bachelor's button's? I was waiting for a pod to mature, it looked greenish and not even remotely brown. We had some rain, and the next day it was all open , seeds well scattered :'( I dont want to remove it before its mature. Any idea about them?

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    11 years ago

The professional long term storage areas, Norway's being most famous, are in caves where the temperatures are in the 50s, that would be F.

• archoo16
    Original Author
    11 years ago