Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chickencoupe1

Saving Seed Bantam Corn

chickencoupe
9 years ago

Hi all. There's much information online, but I see that most information regarding seed-saving misses the issue of bugs. This is my first year at corn. Not all germinated. I don't think I have enough, but the experience is worth the effort. I have fresh seed for planting at least 200 corn next year. Okay, now that's out of the way....

Golden Bantam Heirloom (Not the improved variety.) Planted a bit late for my spot in Oklahoma. 4-6 stalks per plant and as many as 6 ear growing on a few of them. This is encouraging!

I'm going organic. I definitely have had corn earworm, stink bugs and probably others that I don't recognize. I do have beneficial bugs working hard.

Right now the cobs are not ready.

What do I need to watch for in saving seed?
How do I keep the bugs off the corn ears for seed?
Which corn ears should I be saving?
Can they be dried off the stalk in a safe environment?

Thanks all for any input !!

bon

Comments (3)

• EanG
    9 years ago

to save seed from corn you need at least 200 plants to get a good sample size to keep the genetic dervisity up as corn is very likely to degrade over each session .

the cobs that you want to go to seed will be the best looking healthy plants have stright lines of corn with very little twists.

• User
    9 years ago

200 plants is the accepted minimum number of plants for seed saving, if the goal is to reproduce an exact copy of the parent corn and if no seeds from other sources will be grown with the seed you produce.