Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aikimikey_gw

Seed Collecting Resources

aikimikey
12 years ago

I'm new to collecting seeds and have a question that's probably been asked and answered here many times already. What's your favorite resource for information on collecting/storing seeds? I'm sure there are hundreds of web sights with useful detailed information (and I'm eager to read as many as I can) but I'm a bit old school and would really prefer a solid - well written - book that I can refer to again and again. As a newbie I'd appreciate something that didn't overwhelm me in the 1st chapter but also wouldn't bore me after the 3rd. My main focus will be on vegetables that grow in zone 7 and maybe a few flowers for the wife to enjoy as well. "Seed to Seed" by Suzanne Ashworth seems to be highly rated by users at Amazon.com but there are MANY more also available. I would hate to spend the kind of money these books demand only to discover that I bought the wrong one. So, I ask again, what's your favorite resource when it come to collecting seeds? Thanks!

Comments (5)

• remy_gw
    12 years ago

Hi,
    I have Seed to Seed, and I can recommend it as having pretty much everything you need to know about vegetables. I know the book Breed Your Own Vegetable Varieties by Carol Deppe is well regarded, but I do not own it.
    As far as flowers go I can not recommend one. I've not looked at any. I've not had anyone speak highly of one either. Of course that doesn't mean there isn't one out there. But I'm not sure there is one out there that covers a lot. To write a book that would be comprehensive would be a very daunting task since the subject is so vast. Vegetables are a bit easier since there is a set amount of genuses we grow to eat.
    On the web, the best site for flowers is The Seed Site. Besides there I of course think this forum is best one to find answers and ask for one if you can't find it.
    Hope this helps a little,
    Remy

• aikimikey
    Original Author