Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nettasaura

What info to send with seeds that are traded?

nettasaura
17 years ago

I am new to seed saving and trading as of this year. What kind of information are you supposed to send with the seeds. What is proper ettiquette when trading? etc.

Nettasaura

Comments (6)

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    17 years ago

For seed info, besides the variety name, I would include the original source of the seed, and the year purchased (if new) or grown (if saved). If the plant is an heirloom, include as much info about its origin & history as you know.

You should be taking steps during the year to keep your seed pure. Normally, if you are growing only one variety of an "inbreeding" species (self-pollinating, such as bean, pea, tomato) your seed will be pure. If you grow more than one variety, put as much space between them as possible. Do not save seed from diseased plants.

"Outbreeding" plants (such as all squashes, corn, onions, carrots, and most flowers) are pollinated by the wind or insects, and require special procedures to ensure seed purity. If you desire more info on this, I heartily recommend the book "Seed To Seed" by Suzanne Ashworth.

Be sure that seed is fully clean, dry, and insect-free before mailing. If your home is air conditioned or dehumidified, drying seed in an open container (preferably in a single layer) for several weeks should be adequate. Plants should be shipped bare-root if at all possible, or in clean potting soil. There are many more issues with live plants, which should be addressed in a separate topic.

Postal mail machinery will crush even small, hard seeds... so use some type of protection. Bubble mailers are preferred, especially for larger seeds like beans, squash, and corn; but a plain envelope with a layer of bubble wrap or packing material around the seeds will work for smaller seeds. Plants & tubers will need rigid packaging, with plenty of packing to prevent damage.