Return to the Seed Saving Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Swiss Chard Seeds

Posted by segesvar 5 (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 1, 11 at 20:21

I wintered over some chard and have some magnificent plants with myriad seeds, but I need the garden space and would like to cut these down. The plants have pretty much stopped leafing, so I'm thinking the seeds are pretty well grown, and am wondering if I have to leave the seeds to dry on the plant while it's in the ground, or if I can cut them down and dry them separately.

I have lots of experience with other types of seed saving and am a life member of SSE. I would hate to have gone to all the work to winter over these plants and grow them out if I cut them too early and lose viability.

Any advice (soon!) would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Rick

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Swiss Chard Seeds

• Posted by remy 6WNY (My Page) on
    Fri, Jul 1, 11 at 22:41

Hi Rick,
I've not saved Swiss Chard seeds since I've never gotten it to over winter. But I am a big proponent of leaving the plant and seeds intact on any plant until the seed is ready to harvest so cutting them off in my opinion is not a good idea and you will lose viability. I just checked my Seed to Seed book and it says that the whole plants can be pulled when the seeds are fully mature to finish drying in a like a garage or whatever.
Remy

o

I can't help you with the 'correct' answer. But in my climate chard always overwinters and always self sows. I tend to pull the plants before the seed is dry because it takes a VERY long time to ripen. I then put the plants on the (cold)compost heap. I subsequently spread the compost and get a new crop of chard without any effort. So from this, completely unscientific, experience I would say that chard will grow from seed which is not fully ripened on the plant. This seems to agree with remy's advice.

o