Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mary_max

Do I deadhead or let them go to seeds???

mary_max
17 years ago

I just the past couple of weeks started to see a lot of growth in my flower gardens. But I am reading how so many of you are collecting seeds. Do I NOT deadhead and start collecting seeds too? How do you know which to do? Remember this is my first time at this and I dont really know what to do. I appreciate your help as always.

Comments (5)

• teresabo
    17 years ago

Most plants I deadhead until late July/early August. They look cleaner and often produce more flowers. Depends a bit on how much seed you want. I only need a few seed pods of nicotania, salpiglossis, and petunias - only a couple flowerheads of blanketflowers. But others that only have a couple seeds per pod I need to leave more to seed. What plants are you wanting to collect from?

• mary_max
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks.... your reply helped. I questioned all this work for one showing of flowers. I will deadhead and let the plants do their thing for a while longer. I have started to wonder also if it is really worth collecting seeds. Do many of you NOT and just purchase the seeds later in the year? I am afraid that maybe the seeds I collect will not sprout later on.???? Do I have any reason to feel this way, or does it normally work out well. I really would like to hear from others and their feelings regarding this issue if at all possible. Thanks again.

• teresabo
    17 years ago

I love collecting seeds! It is great to participate in the whole cycle - get the seeds, store, plant, grow, get the seeds...... I've had a couple varieties not germinate well but most are fine! I also enjoy sharing them with friends and relatives - they really appreciate it too.

• carrie630
    17 years ago