Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
radek_gw

New To Seeds

radek
13 years ago

Hi I am very lost as this is my first year gardening. I have some very good plants going and I would like to try to save a bit of money next year by collecting these seeds and storing them in the right way. If anyone could suggest a good book, article, ect dealing with the subject it would be a big help. Here are some of the plants i'm trying to get seeds from:

Mexican Sunflower

Blazing Star

Delphinium

Blue Daze Evolvulus

Shasta Daisy

Big Blue Liriope

Ping Pong Phlox

Purple Coneflower

Thanks for any info. If seed isn't possible for any of these maybe something dealing with other propagation methods? I'm eager to learn.

Comments (6)

• remy_gw
    13 years ago

Hi Radek,
    Your best options are to check The Seed Site(link below,) and to do searches of this forum. After searching the Seed Site and this forum, if you do not find an answer, please post a question to this forum.
    It is also good in general to find the Latin name of the plant you are trying to save seeds of. You will get better search results that way.
    Remy

Here is a link that might be useful: The Seed Site.

• kilngod
    13 years ago

There's also the FAQ on the main page of this forum. Good basics.

(The Seed Site rocks! bookmark it.)

• naturegirl_2007 5B SW Michigan
    13 years ago

You mention you are very new to gardening. Hopefully you realize that several of your plants are perennials and should return next year as long as you do not pull the roots out of the ground at the end of the season. Of course you can also save seeds from them and grow even more. But even if the seed saving and growing from seed fails, you should still have several returning plants that are even larger next year and might be suitable for dividing.

• tkhooper
    13 years ago