Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greatbluebabyct

Gladiolous - Will I get seeds? Will they rebloom?

GreatbluebabyCT
18 years ago

Hi,

This is my first year growing Gladiolus does anyone know if they make seeds? Also will they re-bloom if I dead head them instead?

Thanks and Happy Gardening,

Laura

Comments (8)

• chervil2
    18 years ago

Dig the bulbs in the fall and store them in a cool but not freezing place such as a garage or basement. Replant next spring. Upon digging you will find large bulbs surrounded by tiny bulbils. You can save these tiny bulbils as well even though they will be too small to produce blooms next year. Bulbils will need a couple of years to mature to blooming size bulbs.

Cheers!

• kellyz5mi
    18 years ago

Hi Laura,
    Yes, glads will make seeds, and no, they will not rebloom if you deadhead. However, I would second Chervil2's suggestion of digging/storing/replanting if you really like yours & you want them all to survive the winter.
    I deadhead mine every year, but I don't lift them in the fall. I lose a few every winter, but they weren't expensive bulbs to start with - Wally World end of season $1 sale - and I'm a lazy gardener!
    Good luck with your glads,
    Kelly

• cjsmith
    18 years ago

I've got glads for the first time too. So, do you divide off the little bulblets when you dig them up, and do you plant them every year to give them the time to mature? Or should I just leave them attached to the original corm until they're big enough to bloom and then divide them?

• chervil2
    18 years ago

It is better to separate the bulblets from the corm and plant them individually if you want to nurse them to full size. Leaving them attached will crowd the plants.

Chervil2

• Kimberley
    18 years ago