Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladyrose65

Saving Scabiosa seeds

ladyrose65
12 years ago

Due to the severe, heavy rainfalls, the Scabiosa's seeds are starting to rot on the plant. Can I cut the already spent blooms off and put them in a brown bag to ripen the seeds?

Comments (3)

• pippi21
    12 years ago

I'm not an expert but you should never put any seedhead in a bag wet..it will rot for sure or develop some type of fungus.
    Putting them inside a brown bag does not ripen the seeds. I have stored dried seeds in a brown bag over the winter and hung them on a nail in a shed or garage or basement If you have dried seed pods, you can dump them in a brown lunch bag, close the bag tightly and then shake the seeds loose; they will fall into the bag, then you put them in a container or baggie to save them till sowing time. Be sure to label your saved seeds by name and put a date on them.
    Hope this helps.

• ladyrose65
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks Pippi.

• pippi21
    12 years ago