Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nansgarden

your ideas on how you harvest seeds

nansgarden
18 years ago

No matter how careful I am I always get unwanted materials in my seeds that I harvest.The task of sorting them is time consuming so Please share your ideas on how you harvest seeds

from your garden.

Comments (7)

• luv2gro
    18 years ago

I've bought two inexpensive aids that I found at Walmart in the craft section. One is a bead sorting tray (similar to something like a pharmacist's pill sorting tray) for about $4 and also some 4" circles of plastic canvas for about $3. They make a pretty good sieve for separating most of the big chaff from the smaller seeds.
    The tray can get a bit staticky so I wipe it down occasionally with a dryer sheet.

I'm still learning how to collect seeds but everyday it gets a bit easier and they get a bit cleaner.

I'm also watching out for other types of screens or mesh that will be useful. I'm thinking of door screen, small sieves, sifters, etc.

Shauna

• mustangsue
    18 years ago

I too, find it time consuming. I will follow up on your idea for sure. Meanwhile, back to the tweezers!

• garden_witch
    18 years ago

When I'm out in the garden colecting, I have a kit I take along. Its a big basket with paper bags (lunch sacks,) envelopes, scissors, markers, pens, twist ties, a note pad, gloves, and other small garden tools. I use the paper sacks for large seed heads and the envelopes for small pods. I write the contents on the outside (of course) and reuse the bags and envelopes until they wear out =) I use the twist ties to mark plants that are still flowering so I can remember color and variety, and the note pad for notes =)
    To dry them, I dump the seeds into coffee filters (after writing the name of the plant in the bottom,) and stack them loosely to dry. I keep them in one of those hanging wire baskets too keep them out of harms way and for a little more air circulation.