Return to the Seed Saving Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Saving Profusion Zinnia seed

Posted by
nan-6161 7
(gw:nan-6161) on
Mon, Oct 23, 06 at 9:09

Does anyone know if profusion zinnia (small flowers,low, creeping and "profuse"!) is a hybrid? I've heard that saving seeds from hybrids doesn't work as the "babies" won't match the mother plant. I have discovered tons of ripe seed on my 2 cherry profusions this weekend and have plucked it and have it out on paper plates to dry, but I am wondering if the off-spring will be the same or different. The seed looks nice and ripe and is drying nicely. I am new to this seed saving thing and would just love not to have to buy this seed again next year!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Saving Profusion Zinnia seed

I did the same this weekend, I have lots of seeds. I have seen these seeds for sale so I assume they will grow true if not cross pollinated (do you have other zinnias growing nearby?)

o

• Posted by
    nan-6161 7
    Mon, Oct 23, 06 at 23:59

I do have some taller zinnia about 10 ft away.... I guess I'lll just try them and see what comes up!

o

I've been growing Profusion zinnias from seed saved from the mix (cherry, white, and orange) for several years now. I use them for a low border and they tend to be the only zinnias I've grown, so I haven't had a problem with cross pollination. The ones I grow now look to me just like the originals I grew from purchased seeds, same habit and same colors. I don't know that this would work for all hybrids (are we sure Profusion is a hybrid or just a named selection), but it does seem to work for Profusion.

o

Nan,

I heard that Profusion originated as an intergeneric hybrid, but apparently it has been stabilized as an open pollinated variety for commercial distribution.

MM

o

• Posted by
    nan-6161 7
    Wed, Oct 25, 06 at 21:53