Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
christinmk

Chaenomeles (Quince) shrub- info please

Hi guys! Yesterday I cracked open the fruit from my Chaenomeles japonica 'Moned'. There were many seeds in there, so I thought I might save them for trading.

I need some info though. First, will the seeds come true? I know that they won't if there is a different cultivar nearby, but other than that?

How does one store them? Dry them, or put them in the fridge? If so please explain the best method for cold storing, I have never done it before.

Thank you so much!

CMK

Comments (5)

• remy_gw
    14 years ago

Hi CMK,
    The seeds will not come true. Any shrub that is not a straight species will have variations in the offspring even if it was pollinated by itself. People might be interested in growing your seeds though. Moned is a red cultivar and red is common with quinces so the offspring will most likely be red. It seems Moned is marketed for its big flowers so seedlings might have smaller flowers.
    Quinces are in the rose family and I would treat the seeds the same for highest germination which is to keep moist in the fridge. I personally would just keep the whole fruits in fridge and then open them as you need to send out to a trader. I've done this before for Key Limes. But now that I think about it, you do need to trade these out in the next couple months. They need to be stratified so winter sowing is best. Oh and make sure your fruit are really ripe for mature seed.
    Hope this helps,
    Remy

• christinmk z5b eastern WA
    Original Author
    14 years ago

You are wonderful Remy! Thanks for the info.

Should the fruit be very soft for the seed to be mature? Mine were hard. They also fell off of the plant a week or so ago, while some stayed on. What does perfectly mature seed look like? Right now, they are medium-dark brown, just like an apple seed. If you think these are not mature I won't trade them.