Return to the Seed Saving Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to store seeds and for how long?

Posted by dkotchey z5 (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 30, 05 at 13:58

This is my first time collecting seeds. I have collected perennials and annuals. Where should I store these after they have completely dried? I have an unheated laundry room with a closet that I could keep them in? Is that cool enough? I also have an unheated garage - will that be too cool or cool enough?

Also, how long should the seeds be store before they can be sowed? I usually winter sow starting in Jan and some indoor sowing in Jan and Feb. Will they be ready by then?

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to store seeds and for how long?

• Posted by Rosa 4-ish CO Rockies (My Page) on
    Mon, Oct 31, 05 at 9:19

Cool and dry is the key. Either place is fine. Mine are always in the fridge or freezer. Avoid wildly fluxuating temps and high humidity. So if one place keeps a more steady temperature (even if it's a tad warmer) then use that space for your seed storage.
Don't worry as long as the seeds have matured sufficiently they are ready for replanting. There is no storage requirement before resowing per se. Are you instead thinking about stratification where you might give certain seeds periods of cold and wet and then warmth to break dormancy and encourage germination??

o

So, storing seeds in the freezer is ok? I have many heirlooms that I won't be using until I move to N. Carolina early in the year,so I have them frozen.

How can I transport them cross country without damaging them?

o

Some seeds cannot be stored in the freezer. For example, gourd seeds would die being stored in this manner. Also, some seeds do better stored in mesh bags instead of air tight containers.
There are a few good seed saving books out there. The first is
Seed to Seed by Suzanne Ashworth and the other is Saving Seeds
by Marc Brown. Both have wonderful descriptions on how to store seeds of different varieties.