Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nandmsmom

saving squash seeds

nandmsmom
17 years ago

I am quite new to this, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. I am wondering if saving seeds for summer, winter and pumpkin squashes is as simple as it seems. Do I just pull them out and dry them before cooking the rest? Should the squash be a certain size before doing this?

Thanks so much

Heather

Comments (16)

• streamy22
    17 years ago

Hello nandsmom,
    We have saved seeds for summer squash and found that the bigger the squash the bigger the seeds. Picking when squash is starting to soften makes it easier to extract the seeds from the fruit. You can also pick and let it sit for a few days. After extracting the seeds let them dry, and store in a dark room for the winter.

Winter squash and pumpkins is as simple as pulling the seeds out and letting them dry. Then we store the seed in an old mason jars in a dark room or building.

Also if you have bought the fruit or grown it yourself near other gourds, squash, or pumpkins you may get a mixed up mess. Have you ever seen a gourd mixed with a butternut squash, it isn't that pretty.

Happy Holidays,
    David Burton

• nandmsmom
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks David. I'm wondering how I prevent the cross pollination? I don't have a large garden, so everything is close together. I'd really like to save seeds from anything I possibly can.

Thanks

Heather

• nandmsmom
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Remy,

Thanks so much for that explanation. It was exactly what I needed to know.

Heather

• remy_gw
    17 years ago

You're welcome Heather: )
    Remy

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    17 years ago

Nandmsmom, the home gardener can easily save squash seed - even with more than one in the same species - by blossom bagging. There was a good discussion of this in the Vegetable Forum, the link to the thread is below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hand-pollinating squash

• remy_gw
    17 years ago