Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clod_gw

Confederate Rose

Clod
19 years ago

This is the first year my Confederate Rose bloomed, so I have no experience at saving the seed. There were two pods on the plant after all the blooms fell. They haven't turned brown yet. One was blown off in a wind storm. I brought it inside and dried it. I got tiny hairy green seeds from it. I tried to germinate two of them with no luck. Does this mean they are probably not viable? Tony

Comments (8)

• mistyq
    19 years ago

hi Tony,
    this is mistyq i have confedrate roses and i do nothing to them they come back year after year. i also live in sc.as far as the seeds go,i wait until all the blooms fall off and there will be a seed pod let it dry on tree then collect them.i have lots of seeds.you can also root the stalks in water.

• Clod
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks Misty.I was able to get a good amount of mature seed from the second pod on the plant. And I have a cutting that rooted and is now growing. So I will be able to start plants in new locations. Thanks for the info. Tony

• little_dani
    18 years ago

Sometimes it just doesn't make sense to save seeds. Seeds from Confederate Rose are not always viable, don't always come back true. But the #1 reason to skip the seeds on this one is that they root so easily from cuttings. And if you take cuttings from a plant that has bloomed, you have a mature plant, ready to bloom, as soon as it has roots. They grow so fast, you have a beautiful specimen in a couple of years. From a 12" cutting.

Janie

• baci
    18 years ago

Clod, can you describe what your pods & seeds look like? I am trying to save seeds myself.