Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sugar_magnolia_gw

Deep shade under Norway Maple

sugar_magnolia
18 years ago

Big beautiful old tree but yikes it's so dense and sucks all the water and nutrients out of the ground. I have such difficulty getting anything to grow. Nandina seems to be doing well. What can I plant under the base of the tree? What about under the canopy? Thanks!

Comments (7)

• beckyed
    18 years ago

Hi there, I feel your pain. I have a norway maple street tree that I have been battling for 10 years. The traditional answer to your question is "flagstones." The deep shade is the worst problem. If you have any spots with light shade, you can grow some tough plants at the outer perimeter of the drip line, especially native plants. See my journal page for things that have worked for me, but only in sun and light shade. If you have nandina there, you must have at least bright shade. I've never had any luck growing any closer than the drip line.

Also, consider growing in containers. This revolutionized my gardening. In some cases I hacked a hole in the ground (takes a jackhammer in some cases--what roots these trees have!) and placed the pot in it. Then I put other containers around plus some interesting rocks. If you put low shrubby things in the pot, like heucheras and hostas, it looks like the plant is growing in the ground. One caveat: you must remove the pot for the winter because eventually roots will grow up into it, plus the freezing action will split the pot.

You could also trim out some limbs to let in light.

Good luck!

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    18 years ago

I once got Liatris spicata established around the base of a silver maple, a tree almost as bad as Norway maples.

• duffy
    18 years ago

In 20+ years of struggling to grow anything under a Norway maple, my suggestion is: pathways and containers.

I'm going to be putting those around and under my Norway maple this spring. I give up on everything else.

• hunt4carl
    18 years ago