Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
landofoz_07

Shade Garden Layout

landofoz_07
17 years ago

I'm putting in a shade garden under an 'understory' apricot tree. The area is a semi-circle with an 13-14 foot side to it. (if that makes sense) Here is what I planned on planting (in order from back of garden to front):

Solomon's Seal

Bleeding Heart

Japanese Painted Fern

Hostas/Wild Ginger/Lily of the Valley/Heuchera/Black Bowles Viola

The purpose of this garden is to cover dirt that won't grow anything (I am ammending it). I want the Japanese painted fern and the bleeding heart to be my "accents" for the garden. Am I accomplishing this with these plants? Would you add or subtract any others?

I'm fairly new to flower gardening and this is my first year realizing that some plants don't like shade. lol. Please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks so much!

Sarah

Comments (18)

• lavendergirl
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Mayapple compliments bleeding heart very nicely and does well in shade. I purchased the 2 together after seeing them growing together at a local perennial farm.

Just a thought!

• arcy_gw
    17 years ago

Do you know the bleeding heart will die back after it is done blooming? The amount of shade/moisture will determine how long it is around. My japanese painted fern stays pretty close to the ground. I am not sure it is an "accent". Would autumn fern grow in your zone? Astilbe planted near the bleeding heart will take over as an accent when the bleeding heart dies back. The ginger, lillies of the Valley will compete for space, and spread rapidly. You will want to keep them away from the hosta. I LOVE my solomon's seal. I have four varieties. I would suggest the verigated. You may want to think about adding some columbine for color. Your spot will fill up quickly.

• landofoz_07
    Original Author
    17 years ago