Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pauhaus

Epimedium Question

pauhaus
19 years ago

Hi all, I am a newbie to gardening and prepared a shade bed last fall. I purchased an epimedium grandiflorum "Lilofee" and epimedium x youngianum "Merlin" and planted the bare roots about 1/4" to 1/2" under the soil. I then topdressed the area with about a 2-3" layer of composted manure. I am now thinking that I may have planted them too deep.

Is it possible to plant bare roots of epimediums too deep? Will they still emerge? Any suggestions?? Thanks in advance.

Paul

Comments (12)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    19 years ago

I'm not sure how to answer you. Bare root perennials are seldom available in the fall - generally bare root plants are dug and sold while dormant, which in the case of epis is in midwinter. It could very well be that these were 'held over' from earlier in the season, in which case they may not have survived the process. AFA planting too deep is concerned, just under the soil surface and a couple of inches of compost is not too deep, specially since compost will typically compact over winter. I'd give them some time yet - new growth is just starting to emerge here in zone 8.

btw, it's 'Lilafee' :-)

• pauhaus
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks for the response, gardengal. I appreciate it.

• von1
    19 years ago

Hi,
    I have 16 different epis. I think you should just wait also. In the fall 2 years ago I planted 6 new epis. I thought I lost them when they didn't show up in the Spring. Then, there they were. Just give it a little more time. One of my favorite dry shade plants. Most are even hardier that the label suggests.
    Von

• pauhaus
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi Von, thanks for the response. My anxiety is melting just like the snow. Can you suggest a good mailorder source for epis? Thanks. again.

Paul

• von1
    19 years ago

Hi again,
    I bought a lot of mine from this source:
    Garden Vision
    63 Williamsville Road