Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bruce02_gw

Beginnings of Eden MAYBE ????????

Bruce02
19 years ago

I have been reading alot of forums but the memebers here seem so helpful. I just started to lay out a area for a shade garden. The area is on the side of the house about 25 feet wide by 70 feet . The area faces North and opened ended to the west. My plans are to build a fence that seperates the side of the house from the back , it will also be used to increase the amount of shade. The yard is shaded most of the day but exposed to the sun around 4 pm . The new fence will help out quite a bit from the hard Sacramento sun. My plant wish list is as follow .I am not technical so sorry about the generic names. Japanese maples , ferns . moss, hosta, azealea , and maybe a dogwood not sure what variety yet. Any idea or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (6)

• jakkom
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Our CA summer west-facing sun can be very intense and will fry many of the older varieties of Japanese maples. I'd spring for the money for the newer hybrids that can take more sun yet still don't mind the shade. I have bought two 'Emperor 1' trees that were from Monrovia -- one is in a north bed with very bright shade, just a bit of overhead sun in summer. One is in a totally sunny, very windy site. Both look absolutely superb all summer long with no leaf burn. They grow fast, and have a lovely layered, vase-like shape, highly recommended!

If you have very bright shade but absolutely no direct sun, there is no prettier JMaple than 'Aureum', or 'Full Moon Maple'. The chartreuse leaf color is glorious in the shade. It's actually a full-sized tree but grows so slowly it will pretty much fit anywhere. Very expensive since it only puts on 4-6" per year.