Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spel_gw

deer resistant shade plants, groundcovers, shrubs & flowers

spel
20 years ago

i'm very new to gardening (we bought our first house last year) and looking for lots of ideas to fill in our backyard. i don't really know where to begin.

on the flat area of our yard closest to the house grass grows decently (roots seem shallow but we're working on them!). i'm interested in covering the hill/slope in our backyard with a deer resistant ground cover that can tolerate shade and is good for preventing erosion. is there anything like this??

also, we have planting beds along the house that get partial shade. they are about three feet deep by twenty feet long. rather than going to the gardening store & picking what looks pretty together, i'd love to hear what you have had success with. the soil is somewhat rocky. again, deer resistant.

i'm anxious to plant this spring & could really use any advice. thanks!

Comments (14)

• Georgiarose
    20 years ago

For a list of deer resistant annuals, perennials, shrubs & trees and plants to avoid, go to the link below and click on browse and the best of luck with your garden!

Here is a link that might be useful: Deer Resistant Gardens

• amr0719
    20 years ago

Another suggestion is to search in this forum using some of your key words, like "hillside groundcover", etc. There's probably similar postings to yours that have the information you need.

• Liz221
    19 years ago

I've had good luck planting daffodils in the shade
    here in zone 5. Also try aconitum (monkshood) and
    cimicifuga (snakroot) too. They both are beautiful when
    in bloom and the deer won't touch them. Good luck!

• ego45
    19 years ago

Pachysandra have all necessary attributes for your slope:
    deer resistance, shade tolerance and ability to control erosion.
    Interplant with daffodils in a fall and you'll not regret it come next spring.