Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tawny14

wanting to start a shade garden

Tawny14
18 years ago

I am wanting to fill in this spot in my yard that is under two oaks and a pine tree. So, I know my soil will be acidic and very rooty. I want colors. I know that astilbe will provide some color and I want something besdies ferns and hostas I am about hosta out. I have too many....

Open for any suggestions.

Thanks,

Tawny

By the way don't want to spend to much money, husband is the only one that works and I am a full time college student so money is an issue.

Comments (11)

• homer_zn5
    18 years ago

Columbine are very easy to grow from seed. The oak should not make things too rooty, but the pine may make watering a necessity. You might also want to consider some Heuchera like 'Palace Purple' (some of the new varieties require more sun). I know you said you are hosta'd out, but there are LOTS of different types that look substantially different.

You may also consider Hydrangea 'annabelle'. If the shade is too dense, consider limbing up the trees to allow some filtered light during the day. The posibilities are endless, and snooping around the box stores may get you some good scores.

• Tom_Bombadil
    18 years ago

Rhodo, azaleas, hydrangea...some shrubs for starters.

What are you wanting to plant? Shrubs, groundcover, 3rd tier plants, etc?

• Tom_Bombadil
    18 years ago

Ah, just saw the bit about money is an issue after I posted. If you are short on cash but have time and patience you can buy things that will colonize and spread. Lilly of the valley, sweet woodruff, ginger...berry bladder fern is one of my fav 'Cystopteris Bulbifera' as it spreads by runners and can fill in nicely...forget me nots are voracious self-seeders...

• sugarhill
    18 years ago