Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andriana_gw

help! shade and cats!

andriana
17 years ago

hello everybody!

I am a new member in your forum and I must say I have no particular experience in shade plants. I own a small shady backyard crowded with cats thinking of it as their property. In a country full of sunshine(Greece) people dont know much about shade plants. I managed though to trace some bulbs or is it roots?(I dont know the right word for this)of hosta, dicentra, astilbe, geranium, cyclamen and convallaria majalis as well as numberous seeds of myosotis.The hostas started to grow but unfortunatelly they have been chewed by cats. I believe that anything small wont survive their attacks (during the past few weeks its been like war here, with us chasing them around the yard). So I was wondering, if anyone could suggest some shade tolerant large shrubs and vines. Also, is really honeysuckle one of them? Its a common plant here and thrives well under the sun. I would be really grateful if anyone could help me, its spring here and it would be great to see any improvement in my backyard.

Forgive my ignorance and my bad english and thanks in advance for your time.

Comments (8)

• janet_grower
    17 years ago