Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kkal474_gw

Any suggestions for a shady moist area?

kkal474
15 years ago

I am new to the gardening forums although I have spent quite a bit of time over on the home forums. I am hoping that someone might have some suggestions for an area of my garden that seems to be tricky to get anything to do well.

In an inside corner of the front of the house I have a decent size area (probably about 6'x6' +/- ) that is almost always in shade and doesn't seem to ever dry out from rains. We try to minimize watering in that area but until we hit a period of drought it pretty much stays wet. We have thick clay soil which seems to make matters worse.

I had a hydrangea there but it just hasn't done well at all. I have moved it to a more sunny locale where it is thriving but I don't know what to put in the bare spot. It is at the back of a pretty good size bed so it needs to be something pretty good size and ideally I would like something that flowers. Am I asking to much of this area? Any suggestions on what might work here?

Thanks in advance for your information.

Kristen

Comments (11)

• hockey_fan
    15 years ago

Shrubs may be the better way to go. But you could try toad lilies too. Nice fall interest with the late flowers they produce. Ferns are a good safe bet, but lack the flowers you are looking for.
    For flowering plants you will be somewhat limited. I read somewhere about Garden Glow Dogwood, but not sure how much wet the roots will tolerate or the hardiness.

In my semi dry shade--north side of the house with a tree above and no water other than rainfall I have 3 Firepower Nandina that in my zone are evergreen. The foliage turns red in the fall and stays that way until Spring, well some of the top leaves even stay a purplish-red to even slightly orange color year round. They are shown to be hardy in zones 6-10. The leaf color really pops in fall/winter and might be a compromise to flowers.

Matt

• katymaria
    14 years ago