Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisa2004

verigated bush for shade?

lisa2004
17 years ago

Has anyone tried a verigated red-twig dogwood in the shade? How about different types of verigated hydrangeas? I need to light up an area that gets very little direct sun (if any).

Comments (8)

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    17 years ago

I have no experience with the two variegated plants you mention, but Eleutheroccocus (formerly Acanthopanax) siboldianus variegatus is a very handsome variegated shrub for shade.

• chezmoose
    17 years ago

Yes. I have a variegated red-twig on the north side of my house, in a corner next to my porch. It does really well but doesn't bloom much. They do get pretty big though.....

• bobs2
    17 years ago

Acuba japonica does well in shade. It can get a bit large, but it is a slow grower. I have it planted in the shade at the back of my property, and I can see it from the house. It is also evergreen in zone 7. Mine is green with yellow spots/blotches, but I think there is one with almost white spots. Verigated hosta work, also; you could try a very large one.

• ego45
    17 years ago

Though it's not a bush, but fallopia japonica variegata could attain 4x4' proportions and it's extremely brightly variegated plant for full or part shade.
    Variegated hydrangeas will be either not bright enough or will bloom poorly in a shade. Even worse, they are early bloomers and most often than not swelling buds will be killed by late freezes that you may experience in z6.
    Variegated dogwood (Elegantissima or dwarf 'Ivory Halo') will do good in a shade, though both of them succeptible to leaf spot and may not serve your purpose if location doesn't have a good air circulation.

• ego45
    17 years ago

Forgot to mention, I'm too, endorsing Eleutheroccocus as a great shrub for any tough situation, be it wet or dry shade.

• lisa03
    17 years ago