Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashtash

rookie gardener dealing with all shade

Ashtash
10 years ago

Hi. This is my new yard, please excuse the clutter. I get a few minutes of dappled sun in the evenings. My front yard is the same way except it also gets an hour or so of morning dapple. I have one square facing the east that gets 4-5 hours of full sun. Other than that I'm lotsa shade. I have cleared about three years worth of dead leaves and have finally began to grow spotchy grass where the sun dapples in. I want to add color and pretty to this brown/ grey back yard. When I dig in the dirt, it is good black soil full of worms but also full of under -ground root both large and small.
I am a rookie. In the truest since of the word. I have been looking for shade plants and Hostas seem to be the answer i get most. But what about color? Besides impatiens? ANd should I raise beds around the trees before planting Hostas or anything else? Any advice or thoughts greatly appreciated.

Comments (11)

• Ashtash
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

another shot of the back yard. Trees and shade. Shade and trees.

• Ashtash
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Even my front yard is shade. The people who lived here before killed the grass by parking on it. I have monkey grass planted in the front but need to seperate them and space them better this fall I guess?

• PKponder TX Z7B
    10 years ago

Don't take this the wrong way, but you will not be able to grow grass in that much shade. I had a similar front yard as far as the shade and dirt situation. I've come to the conclusion that I may as well quit putting down sod every spring, it just dwindles away from lack of sun. I've been covering mine up with a variety of shade loving ground covers and some native and shade loving plants.
    Ground covers:
    Ajuga
    Mondo Grass sedums
    creeping jenny
    hardy blue plumbago