Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
orchidllauraga

What grows well under an oak tree?

Orchidllauraga
9 years ago

In the middle of our front yard is about a 12 y/o oak tree. Both the tree and the house are South facing. The soil is poor to say the least. I have decided to quit with the shade loving grass seed and go with plants.with stepping stones leading to the tree. I would like for the plants to start out smaller and get larger as we get closer to the trunk.

So if you were in my yard, how would you start????

PS I am a newbie at starting something this big, but I do have my son, & husband to help me...

Comments (18)

• socks
    9 years ago

oops double post

This post was edited by socks12345 on Tue, Jun 10, 14 at 20:35

• Orchidllauraga
    Original Author
    9 years ago

socks it really would not hurt our feelings if the tree were to rot and die. The previous owners let it get too big for the yard. To be frank, we don't have the money to get it cut down and the stump ground out...We have a crepe myrtle that is right up against the house that needs to go as well. It is just too close to the foundation..

• arcy_gw
    9 years ago

A lot of things do..ferns, hosta, Solomon seal, impatiens, Jacob's ladder,

• arcy_gw
    9 years ago

A lot of things do..ferns, hosta, Solomon seal, impatiens, Jacob's ladder,

{{!gwi}}

• arcy_gw
    9 years ago

Here you can see astilbe, primrose, several ferns....
    I have two acres of oak trees. If it grows in the shade it will grow under oaks.

• docmom_gw
    9 years ago