Return to the Gardening in Shade Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What grows well under an oak tree?

Posted by Orchidllauraga 7 (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 10, 14 at 10:20

In the middle of our front yard is about a 12 y/o oak tree. Both the tree and the house are South facing. The soil is poor to say the least. I have decided to quit with the shade loving grass seed and go with plants.with stepping stones leading to the tree. I would like for the plants to start out smaller and get larger as we get closer to the trunk.

So if you were in my yard, how would you start????

PS I am a newbie at starting something this big, but I do have my son, & husband to help me...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What grows well under an oak tree?

What are the water requirements for your oak? If it does not need extra water, putting plants which need water could cause trouble for the tree. In my area, we are told not to water the oaks in our yards.

Also, what about the tree roots? If you cultivate and dig there, might you damage the roots?

Maybe someone else here can help more, or ask at your local nursery (not HD).

o

oops double post

This post was edited by socks12345 on Tue, Jun 10, 14 at 20:35

o

socks it really would not hurt our feelings if the tree were to rot and die. The previous owners let it get too big for the yard. To be frank, we don't have the money to get it cut down and the stump ground out...We have a crepe myrtle that is right up against the house that needs to go as well. It is just too close to the foundation..

o

• Posted by arcy MN 3/4 (My Page) on
    Thu, Jun 12, 14 at 11:26

A lot of things do..ferns, hosta, Solomon seal, impatiens, Jacob's ladder,

o

• Posted by arcy MN 3/4 (My Page) on
    Thu, Jun 12, 14 at 11:28

A lot of things do..ferns, hosta, Solomon seal, impatiens, Jacob's ladder,

o

• Posted by arcy mn (My Page) on
    Thu, Jun 12, 14 at 11:31

Here you can see astilbe, primrose, several ferns....