Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linrose_gw

Your favorite astilbes

linrose
18 years ago

I've been gardening for many years and have tried, and sometimes failed with astilbes. But this year I'm liking them more and more. The ones I put in last year sulked all season until this spring, and they are now happily growing and blooming even with our May drought.

I've decided I really like the white astilbes in my shade conditions under two huge Southern Red Oaks. They just glow. Right now Deutchland is blooming along with Peach Blossom (not white but a soft pink) which I just stuck in at the end of the season as they were in containers on my porch and refused to grow. I just picked up 'Avalanche' and 'Rock and Roll' from Home Depot for $3.33 each, hoping for more good whites.

I really like the spiky height along with my hostas. It gives good texture and form contrast.

Which ones do you like?

Comments (9)

• susan6
    18 years ago

I agree about the white ones. In addition, I've come to appreciate the Astilbe pumilla as a groundcover under shrubs. Just found a pink version which I think I'll like even more, since the pumilla is a little violet for my taste.

• Bamateacha
    18 years ago

Do Astilbes grow well in zone 8...east Central Alabama specifically?

• ego45
    18 years ago

Linrose, If 36"+ wouldn't scare you, 'Bridal Veil' is the best pure white from the tall Astilbes. Very sturdy stems for such tall plant persist well into winter and look absolutely stunning when covered in frost. Looks like you have a bloom in a middle of the January.

Bamateacha, Astilbes in general are not tolerant of the heat, even if grown in a shade and would need a constant, preferably even moisture.
    In our CT climate they could be growh in almost full sun, but i constantly read complains from Mid-west gardeners who having problem to keep them alive.