Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leslie_ma_gw

Want a Shady Paradise, Could Use Advice

leslie_MA
19 years ago

Hi, I'm new to gardenweb as well as being fairly new to homeowning. I've got a nice big shade tree (maple) in the south corner of my yard and I'm in the process of making a shade garden. I hung a porch swing and a hammock from the tree and snagged some cool lawn furniture for sitting. Boy, could I use some ideas to make this my little back yard paradise.

So far I've bought and pilfered ferns, bleeding hearts and hosta. (Sadly, I put a hydrangea into a too shady corner and lost it last year. Rookie mistake.) I'd love to get a (few?) mountain laurel, astilbe, some (Australian?) tree ferns, some ivy to climb up trellises or obelisks in the deep shade and the appropriate clematises in a shady area that gets a bit more sun. What else would look nice in my area? What would I have to do to the soil under the tree to make it more hospitable? Should I think about raising the beds?

Here's a photo of the area. Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Comments (7)

• leslie_MA
    Original Author
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hmmm, couldn't post my photo so I put it up on the hosta forum instead. Here's a link. Thanks

Here is a link that might be useful:

• ericspoo
    19 years ago

I have a shady garden/swing area as well. I put down some sandstone, just under my swing and surrounded it with hedges and lattice with ivy on it. It creates a sort of private room, which feels cozy. Inside my room, I have my favorite statues and garden art to look at, a hummingbird feeder and a birdbath within view. I don't have to improve the soil because two large oaks provide lots a leaves that I let improve the soil naturally in the fall. I hang out there a lot when I want to be alone with nature. Good luck. Your's sounds like it's coming along nicely.

• BerkshirePhyl
    19 years ago