Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dtownjbrown_gw

Another Sun vs Shade Exposure Question

dtownjbrown
15 years ago

Im VERY new to gardening and there's one particular area I want to use for a sorta green-thumb-internship. Problem is.....its one of those "part shade vs. part sun" areas. (see pic below).

The shade is cast by a permanent sturcture so it only gets sun for about 3hours (from 3pm to 6pm) but isnt that when the sun is at its hottest? To complicate matters even more, its situated next to a long strip of concrete pavement which Ive heard intensifies the sun's heat. So even though the direct exposure is less than the full-sun minimum, Im wondering if all that extra heat counts for anything.

Any suggestions on what type of exposure requirements I should aim for when looking for plants to "try out". I realize that some may do better than others, but if I could get some feedback on where to start, it might save me time, not to mention money. Thanks :-)

I THINK THIS PIC WAS TAKING AT AROUND TWELVE NOON:

{{gwi:38681}}

Comments (10)

• Iris GW
    15 years ago

Well, you are keen to have realized the difference that hot afternoon sun makes even in a partial sun situation.

In this situation, you want to err on the side of choosing a full sun plant - something that says "full sun/part" on the tag.

Because you won't get full sun duration hours (which is about 6 hours), what you choose may not flower as well as it would if it got 6 hours of sun, but at least you won't FRY it.

Hope that helps.

• arcy_gw
    15 years ago

If you go with hosta which is considered a shade plant you get them through by giving them extra water. I don't think this will work as well with say astilbe but it would with many Hucera. My sunniest beds barely get 6 hours and I have found many flowering plants that do well. Anything not labeled "full sun" does fine.

• arcy_gw
    15 years ago