Return to the Gardening in Shade Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie gardener needs help w/choosing plants for shady area

Posted by halfandhalf 10 (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 29, 12 at 20:11

Hello out there, I'm pretty new to gardening and have 2 beds on the north side of my 2 story house that gets about 2-4 hours of filtered sun. My neighbors have about 20 banana trees growing on other side of wall where I will be planting and they shed leaves and flowers on the dirt.Don't know if that makes a difference but they have a sticky substance. I live in zone 10 Ca,sunset 24 a mile from ocean. We have mild temps most of year, no real frost
I would like to grow some edibles there but most need more sun. Also was thinking about some flowers or ferns but not sure where to start.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie gardener needs help w/choosing plants for shady area

Tough to grow any edibles under those restricted light conditions. May be better to focus on ornamentals here and try edibles in containers that can be moved into a sunnier aspect.

My sister lives in similar conditions and gardens under similar circumstances (Dana Point). Plants that thrive for her are azaleas, hydrangeas, hosta, ferns, liriope potted bamboo and camellias. In the sunniest locations she has gardenias and geraniums in containers.

o
RE: Newbie gardener needs help w/choosing plants for shady area

• Posted by corrine1 7b Pacific Northwest (My Page) on
    Tue, Nov 6, 12 at 0:12

This book helped me out a lot when I wanted to expand our shade gardens. Year round interest is possible and foliage can be beautiful especially in your zone!

In another garden we have everbearing strawberries that are partly shaded by fruit trees in summer, but produce a good 1st crop. If you have a sunnier location you can get ideas on the square foot gardening forum for edible plants.

Here is a link that might be useful: Making the Most of Shade: How to Plan, Plant, and Grow a Fabulous Garden that Lightens up the Shadows