Return to the Gardening in Shade Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
8 Flower Beds, what to do with them?

Posted by rolacoy 8 near Shreveport (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 12, 10 at 17:18

I have been building a flower garden in my backyard for the past three years. I have never planted flowers before. I can build stuff, but growing flowers, time will tell. Also I may call some of them by the wrong name or spell them wrong.Last Winter I built a greenhouse and planted hundreds of seeds to transplant into my garden this last Spring. It was nearly a total failure. Most of the "Hardscape" is completed so this next Spring and Summer I hope to learn enough to have some plants grow and flower.

This may be too much to ask but I will thank you for any help. I have turned the soil about 6" deep, mixing in peat moss and potting soil. I amso added a sprinkler system this Spring. I have posted pictures of the garden layout and the 8 flower beds that I have with a link below.

#1, my mother-im-law gave me about 150 Surprise Dazes that are planted in this area. They do not last long, I need something that grows about 14" high that will fill the bed with flowers a longer part of the year. It only gets Sun for 2 hours a day. I want to leave the soil alone back toward the tree, because I don't want to hurt the tree. I could maybe add some soil to the front and not hurt the Surprise Dazes.

#2, This bed gets about 4 hours of Sun. I will add a couple of 2" of good dirt this fall. I planted several types of plants this Spring, but the only one that grew is Snow in the Summer and it has not bloomed.

#3, This bed did pretty well, it gets about 4 hours of Sun. My daughter gave me Shasta Dazes and Cannas. I wanted the cannas to hide the greenhouse and they did well.