Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweetbrat

Tall plants needed to help draw attention

sweetbrat
19 years ago

I'm new to shade gardening, and I'm looking for some plants to add to the ones that the previous owners of the house have in place. The area is in my front yard, along the foundation of the house. The front of the bed gets a couple hours of dappled sun in the afternoon, while the back of the bed gets no direct sun as it is shaded by the house. It gets a fair amount of water, plus I water it when necessary, and the soil seems to have good drainage.

Right now the bed has some hostas and ferns, along with a few helleborus, and there's some dwarf daylilies planted towards the front. I'm looking for some taller plants to put at the back of the bed along the house to help it stand out a bit more. This bed is the first thing that is seen from the street, so I want to help spruce it up a little. Any thoughts?

Comments (10)

• paste592
    19 years ago

I'm currently madly in love with kirengeshoma -- I bought some after reading the thread (below) in the perennials forum. One has been in the ground only a week and is blooming beautifully. The other is a couple of weeks older, and is also in full bloom. Take a look at these photos!

Pat

Here is a link that might be useful: kirengeshoma photos

• mycalicogirls
    19 years ago

A recent issue of Fine Gardening Magazine featured annuals to add to shaded perennial beds. They showed nicotiana sylvestris (the tall white-flowered type) planted as a backdrop to hostas and such. It was simply stunning in the photo. I grew them in my sunny cottage garden in the front yard this summer and fell in love with these plants. The fragrance is heavenly. I'm definitely adding some to my shade garden next year! They are easy to grow from seed, which you can find nearly anywhere flower seeds are sold. My plants grew about 3-4 ft. tall, but were narrow so fit into a bed well. Molly

• annebert
    19 years ago