Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lathgirl

Full Shade Plants

lathgirl
17 years ago

I have a section in my yard that is in absolute full shade. Are there any perennial flowering plants that would do well here in zone 8? This is my first year gardening and I would welcome advice and or suggestions.

If you are thinning your flower beds and could spare some small plants I would sincerely appreciate receiving them.

I have several sun loving flower seeds to trade.

Thank you,

Lathgirl

Comments (7)

• gee_oh_nyc
    17 years ago

I would suggest Periwinkle, Forget-me-nots, Yellow Archangel, Lily-of-the-Valley and Coleus. In your area you might also do well with Calladiums.
    Happy Gardening
    George

• sugarhill
    17 years ago

I have been reading the Florida forum off and on for a couple of years. I would ask this question there just because they talk about plants for Florida that most of us have never grown or heard of. They seem like a great group of people too. You could also try Floridata.

I'll give you a few shade bloomers, but I don't know how any of them will do in Florida.
    Astilbe - early summer - needs moist shade
    brunnera - spring - might not take your heat, don't know
    Solomon's seal - again don't know about the heat
    hellebores orientalis - winter - you might have too much shade
    strawberry begonia - late spring
    cyclamen - either fall or winter
    chelone - early fall - you might have too much shade
    anemone - early fall
    columbine - early spring

Check these out with the Florida people and see if they'll flourish in your area. Good luck.

• JRDPA
    17 years ago

Hmm...I've always grown Periwinkle in the sun, even in the west sun when living in Texas. My begonias were in the sun here in PA Z6 as well.

• mboston_gw
    17 years ago