Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lieslmcq_gw

What to do?

lieslmcq
15 years ago

I'm completely new to gardening and I have a bit of a pickle. We have an oddly shaped backyard with a detached garage and a storage shed, plus a covered patio and driveway. This is my quandary: We have a large area under a huge pecan tree that had grass but cannot sustain grass (I think?). The truth is, I neglected the yard after we first moved in, so that may be why the grass is gone in areas. It's almost complete shade, though there are some sun spots. We also have 4 dogs who play back there and the previous owners differentiated an area behind this grassy area for plants, trees and shrubs. What do I do with the area that once had grass and still has some spotty grass? I need something that won't make picking up dog poop hard and will sustain some rough dog play. Any ideas?

Comments (9)

• Iris GW
    15 years ago

How about cover the area in about 3 inches of mulch and forget about growing anything there? The pecan tree (which is priceless) is going to continue to provide a lot of root competition for whatever you plant and the dogs are rough on the area as you said. Seriously, I would not worry about growing anything there. The spotty grass will eventually finish dying out or you could spray it with herbicide before you mulch.

• lieslmcq
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Mulch would make picking up dog poop pretty difficult and pretty pricey since we'd invariably pick up the mulch, too.

• newbiehavinfun
    15 years ago

You could try moss, but it might horn in on your grass sections if they are also shaded.

• pandorasgardens
    15 years ago