Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alexshrugged

Advice for a total newbie gardener

alexshrugged
12 years ago

I've been trying to read through the forum for advice, but I'm getting a little overwhelmed trying to figure out what to do so I figured I'd post directly.

I have ZERO experience gardening. Never did it as a kid, and have lived in apartments my entire adult life...until now.

Just moved into a little house with a mostly concrete backyard, but there are pockets of dirt and a bunch of trees. House faces east, and backyard is shaded almost entirely by both the house and a canopy of old growth trees (not sure what kind, but there is a Fig whose leaves are turning yellow, so would love advice on that too...)

The yard is divided into a couple levels, on the first level there's a long flower-box type of thing that I'd like to put pretty things in. Then, on the second level, there is a huge concrete slab with a patch of dirt on either side. I'd also like to plant stuff in both of these areas.

Pics are here:

Long box -- http://www.flickr.com/photos/88422877@N00/6474023071/in/photostream

One (of two) dirt patches -- http://www.flickr.com/photos/88422877@N00/6474011451/

The soil is mostly clay and I don't think anyone has paid attention to it in quite some time -- I'm willing to add soil amendment or whatever necessary, but don't have a huge budget. I've been watering it a little so that it will be easier to work when I'm ready to plant -- when I moved in it was baked and cracking, and almost impossible to penetrate.

There is some dappled sunlight, mostly in the morning, and I assume there will be more once summer comes but it's pretty heavily shaded. While I'm open to anything at all that I can grow relatively easily (as stated, I don't know what I'm doing at all so need something kind of idiot-proof), I'd love to add some color back there!

Thank you, thank you, thank you in advance for any advice you have!!

Comments (4)

• oliveoyl3
    12 years ago