Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jszone6bnj

3 Teir container wall

jszone6bnj
18 years ago

I posted my concerns "Small Garden Planning". about using a small space 7 X 15 and making it intimate even though one side is 15 foot long and open. I want to buy or make 3 tier container shelves. It seems it would be easy to make one from cedar. Do they sell any type (already made) in season for less that $100 - 3 foot long and 3 shelvews high to 3 or 4 ft.

I could make one from cedar. Four 1x2 legs, 1x2 cross piece under each container. 1x6 bottom over cross piece at 4 ", 24' and 44'. 1 x6 sides. Sounds easy - did anyone make one?

Two of these would give me a green wall along with a maple in a container.

It is very windy in my back yard so the legs would have to be stakes that go a foot into the ground or - on the patio - the bottom would need a cross piece 18" wide (weighted?) to increase the effective side base from 7 inches to 18 inches.

Any experience?

I am new to raising a flock of seeds, astilbe, coleus, tomato, hibiscus, hosta, impatiens, Cyprus vine (later) and Morning glory (in the ground later). No I am not saving money after heater, seed kit and lights but its a lot of fun.

Comments (2)

• alison
    18 years ago

If you're looking for a way to save money (table space and stress) growing from seed, try winter sowing. It's worked really well for me, and for the first time since I started gardening on my own, I can actually use my kitchen and dining room tavles in winter!

I'm having trouble visualizing what you're describing. Do you have a picture of something comparable? As long as you can visualize it, I'm sure it wouldn't be difficult to build, as long as you keep in mind how incredibly heavy well watered soil is. Even if you use styro or vermiculite or something like that in the containers -- wet soil is very heavy, and wood is very pliable and it will warp and bow over time.