Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenhavenrdgarden

Anyone have this composter?

greenhavenrdgarden
12 years ago

I am new to gardening and, after spending a ridiculous amount of money on good compost, I have decided to start composting. I purchased the following composter today: http://www.compostbins.com/compost-bins/compost-bins/aerobin400insulatedcomposter.cfm Does anyone here have any experience with this particular model? I have a huge yard with lots of leaves/clippings. Any advice for a complete newbie to composting? I have been googling and reading up but it gets soo confusing bc there are so many kinds of composters out there. Hopefully it gets easier as I go along :) Thanks for any advice-even of its to tell me I bought a lemon!!

Comments (29)

• claireplymouth z6b coastal MA
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago
  • behlgarden
    12 years ago

I am yet to start composting myself, but from my limited knowledge of compost bins, the one you really should own is a tumbler that you can turn/roll. The one you bought you wont be able to move the composting materials around. For the amount of money you spent, you could get decent tumbling compost maker. I really want to buy that Mantis twin composter but its damn expensive $599. If it hits 50% Off I will buy it.

Again, I cant really speak for composters as I don't have personal experience with them, just general reading knowledge.

• darth_weeder
    12 years ago

what's interesting is all the glowing reviews from people who haven't created finished compost with it yet.
    Like telling your Mom that you're gonna marry the girl you just went on a blind date with.

• greenhavenrdgarden
    Original Author
    12 years ago