Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scg_

Your ultimate compost bin

I have been pile composting for years and finally have decided to build some compost bins to speed things up. I would like to know what you would do to make your ultimate compost bin. I am a journeyman carpenter so have access to almost anything.

Would it be air flow to the center, insulated for winter use something like hinged doors etc.

Appreciate any ideas...

Comments (10)

• Lloyd
    11 years ago

I can't count the number of times people have posted asking for the 'best' composting system/method.

There is no "ultimate" system that is applicable to every situation. There are parameters, from climate, to materials, to available space, to expectations, to physical ability and about a thousand others that have to be taken into consideration. Even after all these parameters have been addressed, someone will pop and say what about this other factor.

Lloyd

Here is a link that might be useful: One example of compost methods thread.

• nancyjane_gardener
    11 years ago

I like to use a tumbler to start the process, not worrying about heat. It seems to break things down more quickly IMO.
    I'm thinking a tumbler that can be dumped right into a bin for finishing would be great rather than tumble/sit/tumble/sit, then dump into something to transfer to the bin or shovel from one to another.
    Hmmmm.....I'm thinking of getting the DH working on this! Thanks! Nancy

• Raw_Nature
    11 years ago

Worm bins! They break down vegetable scraps in no time! Worm casting - one of the best things for a plant!

Joe

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Lloyd, funny how it doesn't show up in a general search... if you don't know the right parameters for the search... anyways.... it was a subjective question to see what people would like most. From emails I understand airflow to be of the highest regard.

Original Author
    11 years ago