Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisa_hendson

buying from Home Depot?????????

Lisa_Hendson
20 years ago

Hi all,

Would like to thank all who contribute their expertise to this great forum -- I'm really learning a lot!

Was wondering if you could share any stories or strategies about buying plants at Home Depot, Target, WalMart, etc. Seems their "expert" sales staff are of questionable expertise. Comments?

I'm a beginner on a budget and try to shop at local nurseries as much as possible, but the $11.99 Norfold Island Pine I bought from Home Depot goes for $60-$129 at local nurseries!

Thanks for any suggestions or stories!

-Lisa

Comments (32)

• birdz_n_beez
    20 years ago

The first thing to do when buying any plant is to look it over. Check list includes:
    1. roots coming out of bottom? (put it back)
    2. leaves brown or yellow? [something wrong, or possible root damage due to lack of watering, put it back]
    3. soil damp? [if not, might not have regular waterings. If everything else is good, take it home and give it a good drink]
    Any obvious signs of plant disease would also be a put back. Generally you can find at least two or three good ones. If you find a store where they happened to hire an experienced gardener, those plants usually look the best.
    If the plant is in the best condition it can be in, then I don't mind paying a bit more than say, going somewhere that one in fourteen plants is good.
    Some places have awsome clearance prices, and even continue to water them after they have been red tagged. Those are the places to go!

• lucky_p
    20 years ago

Don't count on variety/cultivar names to be correct. They frequently by overruns/leftovers from large propagators, and put on their own labels, so all their pears will be Bartlett, apples will be Red or Golden Delicious, plums will be Santa Rosa, etc. - regardless of whether they really are, or not.

• tracey_nj6
    20 years ago