Return to the Garden Sources Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Wholesale plant plugs?

Posted by elly29 ca Z9 (ronald2278@sbcglobal.net) on
Fri, Mar 30, 07 at 13:05

I am just starting out in the nursery business and want to know where is the best place to order wholesale plant and tree plugs?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Wholesale plant plugs?

I have no real knowledge, but found this link

http://www.theprimrosepath.com/wholesale/producers.htm

o

Also, check out Darwin Plants.

o

I hope I don't offend you but I'm going to suggest you read a book by Tony Avent 'So You Want to Start a Nursery'. I read this after my husband wanted me to start a nursery on the side. I didn't want to anyway & really didn't after reading that book! Too much work for something I wasn't sure I'd enjoy & knowing my husband, he'd be the 'supervisor' & the kids & I would be the 'employees'.

Here is a link that might be useful: Starting My Own Retail Nursery

o
...a source for you

I've ordered plants from these guys with success.

Here is a link that might be useful: Horticultural Products & Services Division

o

Depends on the kinds of products you are seeking and where you are located. What are you looking for and where are you located?

For woody ornamental nursery stock try these:
Lakeside Nursery Company, Byron, GA. - One of the Best in the country
Don Shadow Nursery, Winchester, Tenn. - Very selective varieties
Strain and Son Nursery, Athens, AL - Broad variety
S&S Nursery, Athens, Al - Broad variety

Azaleas, Rhododendron, & Evergreen liners:
Flowerwood Nursery, Daphne, AL

Specialty varieties -Iseli Nursery- I forget where on the West coast...Calif., WA, Oregon?
Also, do not overlook Monrovia Nursery in Calif. Lots of liner material out there but they're pricey.