Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynbornman

Calling anyone from Baltimore/Maryland area....

lynbornman
21 years ago

I am relatively new to Baltimore and looking for a good nursery that I can trust to take care of their plants (i.e. NOT Home Depot or Lowes). I've found a few but they just seem outrageously priced. Does anyone that lives nearby now or in the past have any suggestion for a nursery with some healthy annuals and a good selection?? Maybe I just need to get used to east coast prices (Ohio native).

Thanks for any suggestion!!

Lyn

Comments (8)

• cecilia_md7a
    21 years ago

Lyn, I, too, have found that the nurseries in our area that have the largest selections and the healthiest plants tend to be overpriced - especially when you're interested in annuals. (Sometimes I can justify paying a lot for a perennial, since it will come back every year.) I've found that I can get some cheap but healthy annuals at roadside stands when they first get their shipments in. Whereabouts in the B-more area do you live? I might know of someplace near you to try.

• lynbornman
    Original Author
    21 years ago

I live in Baltimore city....Canton to be exact but I'm willling to travel to the burbs for a good place.

• cecilia_md7a
    21 years ago

Lyn, I live just outside the city line in Balto. County - on the SW side. There is a roadside-stand-type place a few miles from me in North Linthicum (Anne Arundel County) that sells a decent variety of annuals, but you need to get there between the end of April and Mother's Day to get the best selection. There are also a couple of cheap places on Liberty Road (NW or just W of Balto) towards Eldersburg, where I have found some good annuals in the past - but that's a little far for you. I wonder if there's anybody on the east side (Essex, Middle River, Dundalk)who knows of a source?

Also, have you tried any of the seasonal farmers markets? I'm not sure whether they have any in the city, but sometimes they're a good source.