Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennyp_gw

I am new to this...help?

JennyP
19 years ago

My dream is to start a small nursery and marketplace. My husband and I have 7 acres in se Missouri. Can anyone help me get started mentally preparing myself to chase this dream? I need info about resources (catalogs, books) to use for material and education. I have a partial education in botany, but a much richer education growing up on an acreage with parents who taught me much about local plants and lore, and common sense gardening. I have no idea where to start in turning this love of gardening and "green things" into a feasible business pursuit. Any ideas? Can anyone share from experience? This is my first posting on the site, though I read off of it often. Thank you

Comments (2)

• greenelbows1
    19 years ago

Tony Avent, of Plant Delights Nursery, has a book called 'So You Want to Start a Nursery', which I have heard recommended highly. You can get it from his nursery website or from booksellers.

• kathicville
    19 years ago

I've heard, too, that the Avent book is a good starting point..........

If you don't have much experience in retail, you might also want to look into taking a basic business class or two, possibly through a local community college. Something that will get you thinking about a business plan, familiarize you with accounting language, marketing, etc. Our local community college offers (once in a while) a short course on how to prepare a business plan.

Check, too, with your closest Small Business Administration office----they have (or at least had) a program in which retired businesspeople 'tutor' or 'mentor' aspiring entrepreneurs. Every business is unique, in its way, but there are also a lot of common issues, processes, problems. Somebody who ran a small company for forty years is a potential treasure trove of information---especially if he or she started it from scratch.