Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ferguson303

Gardening Advice

ferguson303
16 years ago

Since I am a newbie to gardening, I sure could use some help so that I wonÂt lose what I have now. I need some answers to the following questions.

Should I try to save my Begonias or just purchase new ones next spring? Are there seeds on Begonias? They are so beautiful and hate to see them go.

My Caladiums as well as my Calla Lilies seem to be dying back even though there has been no frost, just cooler weather. All are in containers. Would it be safe to dig up the bulbs and dry them out to store for next spring before they rot or get damage to them? I have White, Red and Pink plus Elephant Ears which are still doing well.

I have Daylilies both in the ground and in containers that were given to me, haven't seen a bloom yet. Should I put the ones in pots in the ground or will they survive the winter where they are. I havenÂt put them in the ground yet because I am not sure where I want them but I would like to get some blooms on them next year.

I purchased a Mandevilla from LoweÂs a few months back and it is doing very well. It is in a container with a lattice with it and would like to put it in a larger container. If I trim it back to get it untangled from the lattice and repot it, will it harm it and will it grow back. I plan on bringing it in for the winter.

I was given some CAMPSIS RADICANS (Trumpet Vine) which I put some in the ground and the rest in containers. The ones in the ground are struggling but the others are doing well. Will the container grown vines survive the winter or do I also need to bring them in.

I purchase a red Amaryllis from Walmart and it is starting to grow good. It is in a container that came with it and I will of course bring it in as it gets cooler. I know very little about it but pictures I seen are very nice. Will the Amaryllis bulb produce like Caladiums or can cuttings be taken from it?