Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caroline1co

Reconaissance - roses

caroline1
19 years ago

Hi all (or y'all), I'm new. Just moved to NE Arkansas a few months ago. Getting itchy for spring & thinking about seed starting and roses. Do any of you know when to start seeing the boxed/bareroot roses start coming in (Lowes/HD/Sam's/etc)? I'm trying to do recon on them! lol

Thanks in advance. :-)

Comments (7)

• topsiebeezelbub
    19 years ago

I'm no expert, but I think you can plant dormant roses (bareroot) anytime it's nice enough to work outside and the soil is not too wet. They will stay sleeping till spring. I have potted them up and transplanted them out in spring before, but I think the transplant shock is harder on them than leaving them out in the cold.

• drasaid
    19 years ago

Too often they have sat in those boxes forever and are three quarters dead. I'd check out area nurseries, and especially botanical gardens, for good roses; stay AWAY from Hybrid Teas.
    Here in New Orleans we are getting ready for great early spring sales at the botanical garden, so I assume other areas will have them too. Keep an eye out for OLD roses; easier to care for and dependable.

• jim2k
    19 years ago

Next month you will start to see them.Stay away from wal mart thoses waxed jobs don't do very well and you may not get what you think your getting. good luck Jim

• oldblush
    19 years ago