Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wacalm

Air Potato Dioscorea bulbifera

wacalm
22 years ago

HELP!!!! Have been looking for this vine. Does anyone have some "potatoes" to share. Tell me what you would like and maybe I have it.

Comments (102)

• angelfairy
    19 years ago

Some of these posts make me smile. I have been growing both Kudzu and Air Potatoes for over 30 yrs. with no problems. The key is "control". If you are a lazy gardener they will definitely get away from you eventually, but so does Bermuda grass. These two vines are some of the best for covering Pergolas, trellises, porches, etc. NO matter what you say, they will always have their die hard fans.....thank goodness!

• barb_tx
    19 years ago

I have a nice size 'tater' sitting in my "office" if someone wants it. Barb

• Bush4
    19 years ago

It's most unfortunate that the Air Potato has a rather bitter taste. The vine is so prolific and productive here in south Florida, even the tiniest potato, smaller than an eraser head, can sprout a vine. Our goats eat the larger ones and our pigs eat the vine. I'd be willing to part with a few; simply email me with your request.

• FLneedsTREES
    19 years ago

Helpful Reminder...

Squirels, racoons, birds and any other furry and cuddly critters that live near you might take tubers and plant them in natural areas. Since these creatures are very skilled gardeners, they will get them to grow and that is how they become invasive. You can control the roots all you want. Heck, you can even throw them in a trash can. Then when some wildlife decides to open your trash can and take the tuber to it's home, it then causes a problem. That is why you should not mess with this plant, especially when over 50% of the posts say it's terrible.

This concludes the helpful reminder

• mistiaggie
    19 years ago